Udupi, Jun 27, 2014: Mangalore South MLA JR Lobo and Udupi MLA P are among the 17 legislators who secured 100 per cent attendance in the sessions in the present Legislative Assembly.

A study, by a private agency, has revealed that as many as 17 members have attended all days of the session in both Bangalore and Belgaum. They are V S Kashappanavar, B N Vijaykumar, B A Basavaraj, P M Ashok, B M Nagaraj, T R Raghumurthy, J R Lobo, H K Kumaraswamy, K B Koliwad, K G Bopaiah, Tanveer Sait, K B Prasanna Kumar, K Shadakhari, Rafeeq Ahmed, Shivaram Hebbar, Pramod Madhwaraj and Vinisha Nero.

Mute Spectators

The study conducted by Bangalore-based Rezorce Research Foundation also revealed that 28 members in the present Legislative Assembly have not asked even a single question during the last one year.

The study named former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, former ministers D Sudhakar, C P Yogeeshwara, R Varthur Prakash, B B Nagaiah among members who did not ask question in the three sessions held since the constitution of the 14th assembly last year.

A copy of the report was handed over to Speaker Kagodu Thimmappa on Thursday.

The study also states that 43 members have not participated in any debate or discussion.

Un-starred questions

The report points out that K Gopalaiah of JD(S) has asked the more than 100 un-starred questions in the assembly but has not participated in debates. Only written replies are given to un-starred questions.

The report states that highest number of un-starred questions was asked by Bhimanna Khandre (162), followed by N A Haris (160) and Gurupadappa Nagamarappali (156).


Among ministers, Law Minister T B Jayachandra participated in the maximum number of debates (217) followed by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah (138) and Revenue Minister V Srinivasa Prasad (76). Thimmappa said parties should give tickets only to enterprising and pro-active politicians.

Courtesy: manipal world news