Mangalore, Jan 18: The grand finale of the post-centenary platinum jubilee celebrations of BEM Educational Institutions will be held with a five-day event at the School grounds from Tuesday, January 21 to Saturday, January 25 daily at 5 pm. Prominent national and state dignitaries will grace the occasion during these 5-day event.

The 175th year celebration of BEM Institutions was launched on September 7, 2013 by J R Lobo, MLA, Mangalore South constituency. A Hand Ball State Tournament was held from October 19 to 21, 2013 at the School grounds and a vehicle rally on January 1. The Institution which was established in 1838 is the first educational institution of the district.

Prathiba Puraskar will be held on January 21, where the BEM school children will receive awards under the chairmanship of Srikar Prabhu, industrialist. Rajendra Kumar, corporator, Dongerakeri ward, Ravindra Kini, owner, Durga Laboratories and Nagesh Rao, proprietor, Hotel Usha Kiran will be the chief guests of the day. A very innovative, educational and cultural programme by Swaroopa Study Centre will follow the formal part of the function that day.

The school day of BEM Lower Primary School, High School and PU College will take place on Wednesday, January 22 under the chairmanship of M Raghunath Shet, owner, S L Shet Diamond House, Hampankatta. The other chief guests of the day are Ramija Nazir, corporator, Bunder ward, L P Nehata, president, Rajasthan Foundation, K R Thimmayya, DDPU, education department, DK, Moses Jayashekar, DDPI, DK and Lokesh C, BEO, Mangalore North. The children of the Institutions will render an attractive cultural and educational entertainment programme at the end.

The 76th Anniversary of BEM old students’ association will take place on Thursday January 23 under the chairmanship of M Dinesh Prabhu, former student of the School and owner of City Bakery, in the presence of Prabhakar Puthran, industrialist, K.Jayaraj Pai, old student and owner, Ashirwad Engineering, and B G Acharya, former student. M Ganesh, former student and retired police officer along with a few others will be honoured. The programme will conclude with a variety entertainment by the old students.

On Friday January 24, a 3-D Future Building Project Plan, to be undertaken by Prakash Simons, builder/architect and president, UBMC, in memory of the 175 Years Celebrations will be unveiled by the environment and petroleum minister Dr M Veerappa Moily, the chief guest of the day, and Padma Vibhushan Rajashree Dr D Veerendra Hegde (chairman of the day). Moideen Bava, MLA (Mangalore North) along with Raghavendra Rao, president, Srinivas Group of College/Institutions, Suresh Ballal and Thejomaya (ex-presidents of MUDA) along with A Sadananda Shetty, president, Shree Devi Educational Trust will be the chief guests of the day. All retired teachers will be honoured on that day. The attraction of the day will be the Tulu drama ‘Enkleg Matherla Bodu’ written by former student Naveen Shetty Alake, and enacted by the famous Lakumi troupe of ‘Kuselda Kalavidaru’ fame as their 175th presentation.

The final day programme Saturday January 25 will be held under the chairmanship of Dr H T Sangliana, IPS, retired DGP of Karnataka state, ex-MP and vice-president, National Minority Commission (retd). Bishop Rev John Sadananda, CSI, Karnataka Southern Diocese, Mangalore will deliver the message and Walter J Maben, president will deliver the keynote address. Prakash Simons, president, UBMC, Nalin Kumar Kateel, MP, Janardhan Poojary, former central finance minister, J R Lobo, MLA, Mangalore South Constituency and deputy commissioner A B Ibrahim will be present. A few persons who selflessly helped the School with their long dedicated service will be honoured. The day’s programme will be concluded by variety cultural programmes by present and former students.

On Sunday January, 26 at 7.30 pm the old students’ get-together dinner party will be the climax of the celebrations. Coupons may be obtained for payment from the Association.