Mangaluru : The four-day long 19th Federation Cup National Senior Athletics Championship which witnessed the new records and athletes being qualified for Asian Championship came to an end on Monday, May 4 at Mangala Stadium here.

The valedictory ceremony attended by Femina Miss India 2015 runner-up Aafreen Rachel Vaz, Health and Family Welfare Minister U T Khader, MLA J R Lobo, Athletics Federation of India (AFI) President Adille J Sumariwalla, President of Karnataka Amateur Athletics Association G. Parameshwara, Minister for Sports and Youth Affairs Abhaychandra Jain, Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim and other dignitaries ended in a colourful ceremony on Monday evening.

The four day event jointly organised by Athletics Federation of India (AFI), Karnataka Amateur Athletics Association (KAAA) and Dakshina Kannada District Athletics Association (DKDAA) witnessed the participation of nearly 1,000 athletes representing various states of the country.

The Dakshina Kannada Amateur Athletics Association had announced a cash prizes of Rs. 25,000 each to athletes who broke meet records. Likewise javelin thrower Devander Singh and shot-putter Indrajeet Singh who broke the Federation Cup Athletic meet records in their respective events in the last three days won the purse.

While men’s overall trophy was bagged by Army of India with 123.5 points, women’s team from Kerala won the overall trophy in other category with 86 points.

Indrajeet Singh from Haryana won the best male independent athlete and Srabani Nanda of Orissa won the best female independent athlete with a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a certificate.

While G. Parameshwara declared the meet closed, the athletic flag was brought down by Karnataka athletes Poovamma and Abhishek Shetty. The valedictory ceremony concluded with a colourful cultural programme.

Curtesy: Udayavani