Mangaluru, Mar 9: Valencia parish men’s team defeated their counterparts from Modankap to lift the Late Jerome D’Souza Memorial inter-parish cricket tournamet held at Yekkur fisheries groud here on Saturday March 7 and Sunday March 8. In the women’s category, Jeppu parishe team defeated Angelore parish to win the cup.

The tournament was organized by the Late Jerome D’ Souza memorial committee, Angelore with the support of the friends and fans of Jerome D’Souza and ICYM youth community. As many as 21 men’s teams and 6 women’s teams participated in the tournaments.

In the men’s category, Valencia parish team won the first prize of Rs 20,000 and a trophy and Modankap team won second prize of Rs 10,000 and a trophy. In the women’s division, Jeppu team won first prize of Rs 6,000 and a trophy and Angelore parish team won second prize of Rs 4,000 and a trophy.

Anil of Valencia parish was presented the man of the series award, while Robin of Modankap parish was declared the best bowler and Lestern of Valencia parish was declared the best batsman in the men’s tournament.

Preema of Jeppu parish won the woman of the series award, Chaitra of Jeppu parish the best bowler title and Diona Pais of Angelore parish was declared the best batswoman in the women’s category.

The prizes were distributed on Sunday evening in a cermony in which Mangaluru south constituency MLA J R Lobo was present as chief guest. Kankanady ward corporator Pravin Chandra Alva, Daijiworld marketing manager Praveen Tauro, Kritin Kumar, Lancy D’Souza, Edward D’Souza, Donald D’ Souza, Joyson D’ Souza, Prakash Lobo and Steven Noronha were present on the dais.

Maxim D’ Souza conducted the programme and proposed the vote of thanks.

Courtesy : Daijiworld